The United States Navy Memorial

Navy Memorial Honor, recognize, & celebrate the men and women of the sea services.

Lone Sailor Awards Dinner 2017

September 27, 2017
THe 2017 Lone Sailor Awards Dinner has been designated a Widely Attended Gathering by the Navy General Counsel.
The Lone Sailor Award is given to Sea Service veterans who have excelled with distinction in their respective careers during or after their service. The 2017 award recipients will join an impressive list of men and women who have distinguished themselves by drawing upon their military experience to become successful in their subsequent careers and lives, while exemplifying the core values of Honor, Courage and Commitment. 
For more information regarding sponsorships opportunities, please contact Melanie Demb at (240) 620-8735.

Date: September 27, 2017   

Attire: Black Tie or Military Dinner Dress Uniform

National Building Museum
440 G Street NW
Washington, DC 20001

*Valet parking is available for all guests at the G Street entrance


MCPON Delbert & Ima Black are the first couple to ever receive the Lone Sailor Award. Delbert was the first Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy, and Ima, a Navy WAVE was the first lady of the Navy's Chief Mess.


Christopher Gardner is the founder and CEO of Gardner Rich & Co and author of The Pursuit of Happyness, now a major motion picture starring Will Smith.


David Robinson is a former professional basketball player for the San Antonio Spurs and a U.S. Navy Veteran, nicknamed "The Admiral."

For a list of previous Lone Sailor Award recipients, click here


Diamond Sponsor

Silver Sponsor

Bronze Sponsors


Small Business Sponsor

Lone Sailor Awards Dinner 2016: